After a dominant run in district play, it was no surprise that the Friendswood Lady Mustangs recorded top honors in the 23-5A postseason awards.

Lady Mustangs pitcher Chloe Riassetto picked up the district’s most valuable player honors, while Tricia Yarotsky was named co-offensive player of the year and Elizabeth Higgins was the defensive player of the year.

Texas City also picked up a pair of superlatives, with Davionna Driscoll being named newcomer of the year and Jennifer Oregbesan getting the coach of the year nod.

Other local players earning all-district honors are as follows.


First team: Britaney Shaw, infield

Second team: Mackenzie Clark, outfield; Janae Girouard, pitcher

Honorable mention: Grace Smith, Arianna Rodriguez


First team: Haven Franks, utility; Reagan Jones, outfield

Second team: Bayleigh Lay, infield; KK Esparza, infield; Amani Adi, outfield

Honorable mention: Lauren Adams, Madelyn Wilson


First team: Reese Reyna, infield; Ryleigh Mata, infield; Ciara Trahan, outfield; Juliana Garcia, outfield; Maddy Blake, pitcher

Second team: Maggie Childs, infield; Rylie Bouvier, infield

Honorable mention: Ashley Nickerson, Miranda Trigo


First team: Mya Holmes, infield

Second team: Tavery Ortiz, catcher

Honorable mention: Gabrielle Logan, Samantha Bundy

James LaCombe: 409-683-5242, or on Twitter @JamesAtGalvNews

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.