The La Marque football Cougars had a rough start to their season, but rallied to keep a long playoff qualifying streak alive, and the year officially wound down with all-district honors in their newly formed 11-4A-II conference.

Here are the players who earned postseason recognition.


Perry Preston, senior, RB (unanimous); Kenneth Cobb, junior, OL (unanimous); Jauron Reid Jr., sophomore, WR (unanimous); Sterling Mack, junior, DL (unanimous); Jatavious Adams, junior, LB (unanimous); Malik Holmes, senior, LB (unanimous); Izeal Owens, junior, DB (unanimous); Kristian Franklin, junior, DB (unanimous); Duante Henderson, senior, DL


Kobe Gatson, senior, QB; Norvan Saldana, senior, RB; Darius Saldana, senior, OL; C.J. Yancy, junior, OL; Gene Gee, junior, DL; Jo’Vonte Dozier, junior, DL; Jeremiah Taylor, senior, LB; Micah Hanlon, junior, DB

James LaCombe: 409-683-5242, or on Twitter @JamesAtGalvNews


Sports Editor

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.