Hi Fives: Doolin Cup

Hi Fives: Doolin Cup

Pictured are (back row) Doolin Cup competitor Deborah Smith (Chicago), SSBG founders Rosemary Doolin, Captain Charles Doolin, competitor Bridget Bodo (Chicago) with Kevin Somers, Galveston volunteer, (front row) Gary Pierce (Chicago), Captain David Gaston (holding Doolin Cup), and Patrick Loduca (Chicago).


Sea Star Base Galveston has announced the winners of the 3rd Annual Doolin Cup Adaptive Regatta that was held Oct. 19-21, on Offatt’s Bayou.

A program of community sailing, the Doolin Cup Adaptive Regatta was open to Sonar class sailboats and all sailors with disabilities who are members of US Sailing. The Sonars, all adapted for competitive sailing, performed in high winds and sporadic rain showers that prevailed throughout the competition.

At the conclusion of the race, winners were announced and trophies were awarded by Captain and Mrs. Charles Doolin, founders of Sea Star Base Galveston. The winning team receiving the Doolin Cup Triple-handed Trophy was Captain David Gaston, Galveston, Randy Bowers and Gerard Coleman.

Second place was Skipper Paul Horton, Austin, Andy Green, Shearon Horton, Sam Showalter, and Tighe Huber. Third place was Skipper Arbie Parnell, Houston, Matt Colson and Clement Jardin.

Also competing were Skipper Larry Smith, Stuart Masterson, Laurence Wall, and Charlie Beeman, Skipper Gary Pierce, Chicago, Paul Loduca, Chicago, and Gary Hill, and Skipper Bridgett Bodo, Chicago, Deborah Smith, Chicago, and Kevin Somers.

Serving as race committee were Tony Smythe, Loren Cadenhead, Mike Janota, Noelle Ingalls, Joe Janota and Sabu Bodo. Photographer Al Ruscelli documented the race, and volunteer support was provided by Tom Bednarik, Davis Clay, Alvin Sallee, Richard Gray, Charlie Beeman, Ruby Pal, Angela Winegar, Ron Eaves, Robyn Bradford, Jami Cooper, Caleb Thompson, Tyler Oliveira, Hina Mittal, Sangeeta Patel, Ashley Howell, Alexander Thompson, Shannon McCollum, Stacey Lau, Amanda Coffey, Jennifer Boren, Kay Coleman, Mary Valicek, Sarah Lewis, Sarah Aulsbrook, Erica Hsu, Emily Chiou, Anna Snyder, Amanda Parent-Brito, Sarah Casburn, Kristen Favre, Brent Benson, Elizabeth and Michael Kunder, Aliris Lopez, Christina Smith, Paxton Cook, Avi Ross, Ashely Fox, Weston Reed, Kahla Graham, Jack Clark, Root Choice, and Adrianna Luprea.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.