With the sports world largely shut down in hopes to slow the spread of the coronavirus, also known as COVID-19, pandemic, the NFL made waves Saturday night when players narrowly ratified a new collective bargaining agreement that will bring significant changes to the league’s regular season and playoff structure.

Starting next season, the playoffs will be expanded to seven teams in each conference with now three AFC and NFC Wild Card Round games and only the No. 1 seeds receiving first-round byes. Then in 2021, the NFL will roll out a 17-game regular season schedule with one less preseason game and one extra bye week for each team.

James LaCombe: 409-683-5242, james.lacombe@galvnews.com or on Twitter @JamesAtGalvNews


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.