In memory of one of the oldest posts in the nation, American Legion Post No. 20, established Aug. 23, 1919, we would like to honor our charter members. It's because of their vision that this veterans organization has been able to continue to help and support our fellow veterans and our community for over 100 years. They are as follows:

A. Akerholm; C.E. Allen; A. Arivello; Richard Ayers; Sam J. Barron; J.A. Benson; David Black; Lee L. Boddeker; W.N.N. Buchanan; Ed J. Burke; Oscar Akerholm; A. Anderson; Apostles Aristivis; A. Badino; John L. Becke; J.W. Bennett; Hyman Block; Walter Bonsor; H.E. Bufkin; Alex M. Burgess; Chas W. Alberson; H.A. Anderson; John Austin; Arthur Bahnsen; A. Beluomini; Herbert Bisbey; Hugh J. Boddeker; Harold Bordeaux; Thomas Burke; and A.W. Baushell.

Please join us in honoring all veterans by joining us for Veterans Day at 4 p.m. Thursday at 1503 23rd St. in Galveston.

All gave some, and some gave all, so if you know a veteran thank them for their services.

Cmdr. Johnny Enriquez

American Legion Post No. 20


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Real Names required. No pseudonyms or partial names allowed. Stand behind what you post.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.