Page Rander, president of the Clear Creek Independent School District board of trustees, is facing a challenger this May who argues the district hasn’t been fiscally responsible enough.

“Citizens are fed up with the amount of bond elections that they’ve had and the amount of bond elections that have passed,” said Jeff Larson, Rander’s challenger. “The total value is high.”

Rander points to her seven years of service on the board and dedication to the community as reasons she’s running again.

“My years of service have given me a good footing on the board,” Rander said. “And I’m happy to do it. This community means a lot to me and has given a lot to me. And I have a lot more to give.”

The District 4 race between Rander and Larson highlights a busy election season for Galveston County school districts.

Friday was the deadline for local candidates to submit paperwork for spots on the May ballot.


Three of the district’s seven seats will be up for election this May.

In District 5, which is mostly in League City, incumbent Jay Cunningham will try to fend off challengers Michelle Moore, a NASA resources manager, and Yvonne Tibai, a retired teacher.

Charles Pond, a member of the board since 2009, will try to hold onto his at-large A position against challengers Jacob Berry, an information system security officer, and Jennifer Broddle, a volunteer.

Rander and Larson will face off for the District 4 seat, which Rander has occupied since September 2010 when trustees appointed her to fill an unexpired term.

Trustees serve three-year terms.


Three incumbents filed applications by deadline Friday to stay on the board of trustees, with only one of the seats picking up a challenger.

Randy Williams, an electrical technician, filed to run against Michelle Cantrell for the District 6 seat.

Cantrell was appointed to the board in May 2017 after her mother-in-law Monica Cantrell was elected to the city commission.

Ted Robinson Jr. is running for District 4 and Tom Ivey is running for District 7. Both are unopposed.


Only two incumbents filed to retain their seats on the Dickinson Independent School District board of trustees.

Fredericka “Fritzie” Samford filed paperwork for the District 3 seat and Jeff Pittman filed for the District 4 seat.

This is the second straight election that the two are running unopposed. Samford hasn’t been opposed since running in 2012.

“If no one else files, then there will be an agenda item at a future board meeting to cancel the election,” said Tammy Dowdy, spokeswoman for the district.


President Hal Biery is running unopposed for his District 6 seat.

Newcomers Thad Spears, a planner and scheduler, and Nelson Juarez, a doctor of optometry, will square off for the district’s at-large position.

Matt deGrood: 409-683-5230;


(2) comments

Jean Casanave

Time to shake up CCISD.

Diane Turski

I am thrilled to support Yvonne Tibai's candidacy! She will be a valuable addition to the CCISD Board!

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.