Texas City Mayor Matt Doyle will serve another two-year term as the head of the city’s government.

He said it will be his last.

No challengers filed paperwork to run against Doyle, who has served as mayor since 2004 and on the city commission since 2000. That means he’s the presumptive mayor-elect for another term on the commission.

Doyle said he intended his next term to be his last one, saying he was imposing a term limit on himself.

“We’ve got a few more things to do,” he said. “But when I leave this job, there will always be things to do.”

Apart from his first election in 2004, Doyle has not been challenged for his seat since taking office.

“I hope I can take it as that I’m doing a good job,” he said.

Matt Doyle is the son of former Texas City Mayor Chuck Doyle. Together, they have held the city’s highest office for 24 of the past 28 years.

Doyle said he thought it was possible that another member of his family could seek the office after he steps down.

“My dad believed strongly in serving his community and he instilled that in all of us,” Doyle said.

Doyle said he wanted the commission to spend the next two years focused on issues such as Hurricane Harvey recovery, and the continued development of the west side of Texas City.

Friday was the deadline for candidates to submit paperwork for ballot spots in May’s local entity elections.

There is a small possibility that more candidates could emerge. Latecomers have until Tuesday to notify cities whether they intend to mount a write-in campaign.


Elsewhere in Texas City, incumbent at-large commissioners Bruce Clawson and Dee Ann Haney will be joined by Mayor Pro Tem and District 2 Commissioner Phil Roberts in running for two open at-large seats.

In District 1, Earl Alexander and Johnny Hollowell are running to replace Thelma Bowie, who did not seek re-election.

District 3 Commissioner Dorthea Jones and District 4 Commissioner Jami Clark are running for re-election unopposed. Abel Garza Jr. is the only person running for the District 2 seat, that currently held by Roberts.


Galveston Mayor Jim Yarbrough drew no challengers for his third and final bid.

It is the first uncontested election for Galveston’s mayorship since 2008, when former Mayor Lyda Ann Thomas ran for her third and final term.

“I cannot believe it,” Yarbrough said Friday, adding he intended this year to be the final time he runs for political office.

“I’ve had my fingerprints on stuff for a long time. It will be time for new times and fresh faces,” he said.

Yarbrough was first elected mayor in 2014. He was the Galveston County judge from 1995 until 2010. The city of Galveston rules allow council members to only serve three consecutive terms in a position before being termed out.

Three of the city’s six council seats also are contested this year.

In District 3, which includes the Historic East End and downtown, incumbent Frank Maceo is being challenged by David Collins.

In District 5, John Paul Listowski, Jeff Antonelli, Carol Hollaway, and Chris Petrowski are all running to fill the seat left vacant by Terrilyn Tartlon-Shannon, who termed out of her seat this year.

In District 6, the West End district, incumbent Carolyn Sunseri is being challenged by Jackie Cole, a veterinarian and the owner of Campeche Cove Animal Hospital.

District 1 Councilwoman Amy Bly and District 2 Councilman Craig Brown did not draw challengers. In District 4, Jason Hardcastle was the only person to apply to replace Councilman Mike Doherty, who is stepping down after one term.


In Friendswood, Mayor Kevin Holland is not running for re-election. Former NASA astronaut Mike Foreman and retired engineering executive Omar Peck are running for mayor to replace him.

Position 1 Councilman Steve Rockey is running for re-election against Michael Wood.

Trish Hanks and Philip Ratisseau are running for Position 3 on the city council to fill a seat Councilman Jim Hill is vacating.

A special election on the same day as the general election will decide who will replace Foreman as the Position 4 councilman. Robert J. Griffon and Brent Erenwert filed as candidates for that post, but other candidates have until March 5 to submit their names to be considered for the special election.


Mayor Bobby Hocking received a challenger for his re-election bid from teacher and businesswoman Kimberley Yancy.

Council members Keith Bell, of District A, and Robert Michetich, of District C, both filed to retake their seats. They had no challengers.


In Santa Fe, Mayor Jeff Tambrella is being challenged by 37-year-old Jason Tabor, the owner of Red Cap Restaurant in Santa Fe.

Position 2 Councilman Jason O’Brien and Position 3 Councilman Corey Janett were both unopposed for their positions.


In Hitchcock, Mayor Dorothy Childress drew no opposition to keep the seat she was appointed to last November.

There will be one contested race in the city. District 3 incumbent Randy Stricklind is being challenged by Ted Robinson.

Mark Cook received no opponent in the race for Hitchcock District 4.


Three Kemah City Council incumbents are running unopposed. They are Teresa Vazquez-Evans, Position 1; Kyle Burks, Position 3; and Matthew Wiggins, Position 5.


Four people are running for the three open positions on the Jamaica Beach Board of Aldermen.

Sherwood “Woody” Green and Marci Kurtz are seeking re-election to the board, while Russell Rupertus and Jacob John Grow are making bids to the board.


There are three seats up for election on the Tiki Island Board of Aldermen, and only three people submitted applications to fill the position. Tom Fisher and Karen Hearring will retain their positions on the board. Hunter Neblett will take the position left vacant by Wayne Crozier, who resigned from the board last year.

The cities of League City and Dickinson are not holding elections this May. Clear Lake Shores could not be reached for election information on Friday.

Daily News reporters Valerie Wells and Matt DeGrood contributed to this report.

John Wayne Ferguson: 409-683-5226; john.ferguson@galvnews.com or on Twitter @johnwferguson

(3) comments

Ryan M. Garza

Hey John, under Texas City’s candidates it list “Abel Garza” and that is actually Abel Garza Jr. I’m not certain if it’s AP style to include it once the Sr. is deceased, but the local community would be much more familiar with who it’s referring to if Jr. were included...only because it’s not the most unique name.

I’m not attempting to be nit-picky; I’m just really excited for my dad, lol. Anyways, thanks for your time!

Ryan M. Garza

Jose' Boix

What about TC District 1 and any TCISD candidates?

Ron Shelby

Sorry Jackie Cole. I’d love to see you back but not at the expense of Carolyn. Let her finish her eligible terms out. This has been one of the most beneficially productive councils that we’ve seen in a very long time. After Carolyn’s eligibility runs out, I’d be glad to see you there. But for now, Carolyn deserves this,....and so does Galveston.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.