COM inducts honor students

Recognizing students who excel academically, the College of the Mainland chapter of the international honor society inducted 27 students on April 27.

Recognizing students who excel academically, the College of the Mainland chapter of the international honor society inducted 27 students on April 27.

Inducted were Jasmine Arroyo, Edrick Bates, William Cowan, Zachary Dockal, Cynthia Dryer, Barry Elkins II, Maizie Fernandes, Anthony Jackson, Agueda Jimenez, Hannah Kelm, Jeremiah Lewis, Jessica Lopez, Luis Lopez, Hailey Martin, David Milling, Abbie Murphy, Esthela Ortiz-Quintanilla, Leigh Park, Samantha Pina, Lauren Rankin, Dariela Rodriguez Quiroga, Mikayla Roseboro, Raul Salgado, Liudmyla Sharp, Charles Sorrell, Samuel Uribe and Regina Ye.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa, an international community college honor society, must meet its academic standards including completing 12 credit hours and earning a 3.5 GPA.

This year, COM’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa earned a spot as a top 18 chapter in Texas and the top 100 in the nation out of more than 1,000.

The chapter has been named a Five Star Chapter, the highest level of recognition, for its service, scholastic excellence and community involvement for the past 18 years.

This is the first year that students were able to access micro scholarships to cover the $85 induction fee. Faculty and staff funded these micro scholarships for 25 students through donations to COM Foundation. For more information on COM scholarships, visit

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at COM, visit

IV certification course open for pharmacy technicians and pharmacists

Pharmacists and pharmacist technicians can take one course — Sterile Preparations — to gain IV certification needed to work in hospitals.

The College of the Mainland course is held June 5 to July 6. The course teaches the successful preparation of IVs, a major responsibility of pharmacy personnel in hospitals and long-term care facilities.

It teaches mastery of aseptic technique, which ensures patient safety and consistent, pathogen-free products.

The course is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and it meets national and state standards for pharmacists and pharmacist technicians. Technician students also earn 40 hours of continuing education for taking the class. Pharmacists earn 20 hours.

For more information or to register for the class, call 409-933-8685 or email

The COM Pharmacy Technician Program trains students through classes and clinicals to dispense prescription medication working under licensed pharmacists. Employment of pharmacy technicians is projected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics to grow 20 percent from 2012 to 2022, faster than the average for all occupations.

Learn more at

Inside COM is compiled by the communications office at College of the Mainland.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.