Six FHS seniors named

commended scholars

Six students at Friendswood High School have been named commended students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Seniors Elizabeth Chong, Julian Falco, Arjun Ganhakhedkar, Jared Janak, Emily King and Alison Tang received a letter of commendation form the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program. The students will be honored by the district’s’s board of trustees on Oct. 9.

Character counts for FHS

Character has, and continues, to be a focus for the Friendswood Independent School District. Friendswood High School highlights a pillar of character each month. Teachers are asked to nominate a student that displays the character traits for that month. September is Respect. The definition of respect is to have high regard for, to hold in esteem, to treat with courtesy and consideration.

The following students were nominated by their teachers for the character pillar Respect: Ashley Adams, Jiana Adi, Martha Olivia Alvarez, Sebastien Bartlett, Jacob Bradley, Taylor Campbell, Elizabeth Chong, Emma Cowan, Hanna Dion, Mason Dowless, Jose Garcilazo, Soleil Gignac, Jorge Gonzalez, Rembrandt Guzman, Madeline Hill, Megan Hodson, Blake Howard, Abby Hughes, Jared Janak, Justin Karam, Natalie King, Logan Kirk, Kylie Lockhart, Michelle Martinez, Ben McAndrews, Garrett McGregor, Haley (Summer) McNatt, Kate Meador, James Mills II, Ajay Palmer, Ruby Patek, Regan Payne, Haydin Peace, Alec Perry, Ashley Phares, Dane Roenne, Aaron Rose, Jacob Schmanske, Emma Scott, Hunter Scott, Ahysen Silva, Rory Sims, Kara Sivley, Nicole Solis, Donnie Vance, Cal Whitaker, Ellie Wilber, and Sam Wittman


forensics team

Friendswood Forensics competed at the first tournament of the year Saturday at Clear Falls High School and came in sixth place in Grand Sweepstakes out of 26 schools. Twenty students competed with 12 of them attending their very first speech tournament.

Individual results were:

James Mills — 3rd place Domestic Extemp and 9th place Congressional Debate

Elizabeth Chong — 2nd place International Extemp

Kyle Flick — 5th place International Extemp

Ahysen Silva — 5th place Championship LD Debate

Mikayla Mullin — 5th place Novice LD Debate

Tyler Mitchell — 2nd place Novice Extemp

William Jeffcoat — 3rd place Novice Extemp

Antonio Graffagnino — 4th place Novice Extemp

Matt Ryan — 5th place Novice Extemp

Ashley Brueggeman — 6th place Novice Extemp

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.