LA MARQUE – Following its third-place finish in league play and first-round playoff victory, the La Marque girls basketball team earned honors from 24-3A coaches with the announcement of the all-district teams.

Lady Cougars senior forward Brittany Bennett and sophomore guard Armoni Green were both unanimous selections to the 24-3A All-District First Team.

Senior guard Daizhana Green and freshman guard Breona Scott were each selected to the Second Team.

La Marque players getting honorable mention designation were junior guard Durneisha Haynes and freshman guard Brandolyn Walker.

Columbia junior Ondrea Hall was unanimously chosen as the District MVP. Offensive MVP honors went to Stafford junior Stacey Nwosu. Splitting the Defensive MVP award were Stafford junior Kiara Calloway and Columbia sophomore Chantel Ward.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.