FRIENDSWOOD – There’s an adage in sports that the best offense is a good defense. For the Galveston County boys soccer player of the year Dylan Waugaman, the saying was quite literal this season.

Despite playing on the defensive end of the pitch as the Friendswood Mustangs’ starting center back, Waugaman tied for the team lead in goals on the season with eight and led his team to a district championship.

The defensive position was not exactly Waugaman’s natural spot on the field, but he took it on — and excelled in it — for the betterment of his team.

“Dylan is a good leader; he’s been team captain for three years now,” Mustangs head coach Stephen Peter said. “He played center back, which is a little out of position (for him), but it suited our team best and he never complained.”

As many good team leaders do, Waugaman credited the teammates around him for his individual success and the team’s success.

“I was with a good group of guys,” Waugaman said. “The teamwork was really evident this year, just high effort.”

After earning the 43-4A district crown, the Mustangs and Waugaman defeated Houston Reagan, 2-1, in the opening bi-district round of the state playoffs.

Friendswood’s run came to an end in the next round with a 3-2 loss at the hands of Stratford.

“We fell a little bit short. We expected to go a little bit farther than we did,” Waugaman said. “We just had a little bit of an off game against Stratford, but, overall, we had a pretty good season.”

Although a junior, Waugaman said he will be unable to return to the Mustangs for his senior season because of his commitment to his academy soccer team. Waugaman closes his high school soccer chapter, though, as Galveston County’s top player.

All-County boys soccer

Top honors

Player of the Year: Dylan Waugaman, Friendswood

Offensive POY: Tres Rodriguez, Texas City

Defensive POY: Colin Sizelove, Clear Springs

Coach of the Year: Chad Camer, Texas City

First team

Dylan Waugaman, Friendswood

Tres Rodriguez, Texas City

Colin Sizelove, Clear Springs

Jordan Burke, Clear Springs

Bernaardo Garcia, Dickinson

Michael Gorgos, Clear Falls

Igor Magalhaes, Clear Falls

Max Reinart, Friendswood

Richard Tyldesley, Santa Fe

Derek Wheeler, Friendswood

GK: Alex Chavez, Ball High

Second team

Lennon Beavers, Clear Springs

Brian Cassady, Friendswood

Juanito Flores, Dickinson

Robert Garey, Clear Creek

Irving Gutierrez, Ball High

Sheldon Lawerence, Ball High

Austin Mathews, Clear Creek

Tyler Matejka, Santa Fe

Dean Saavedra, Clear Falls

Dominic Wood, Clear Springs

GK: Zach Wrinkle, Friendswood

Honorable mention

Robert Garey, Santa Fe

Jovani Herrera, Ball High

Miguel Lopez, Texas City

Carlos Ramirez, Clear Creek

All-District teams

24-5A BOYS

(No overall MVP or newcomer listed)

Offensive MVP - Michael Plaza, Clear Lake

Defensive MVP - Colin Sizelove, Clear Springs

Goalkeeper of the Year - Jack Curtis, Clear Lake

Coach of the Year - Jered Shriver, Clear Lake

First team

Lennon Beavers, Clear Springs

Blake Bontz, Clear Lake

Quinton Bridges, Clear Brook

Jordan Burke, Clear Springs

Victor Damien, Brazoswood

Skylar Dolezal, Brazoswood

Juanito Flores, Dickinson

Aaron Frazier, Brazoswood

Bernaardo Garcia, Dickinson

Michael Gorgos, Clear Falls

Bryan Guerrero, Clear Brook

Ruadhri Kenny, Clear Lake

Igor Magalhaes, Clear Falls

Alex Martinez, Brazoswood

Austin Mathews, Clear Creek

Daniel Penley, Clear Lake

Carlos Ramirez, Clear Creek

Daan Saavedra, Clear Falls

Camilo Vives, Clear Lake

Jason Weed, Clear Lake

Dominic Wood, Clear Springs

Second team

Ivan Adams, Clear Springs

James Bartlett, Clear Falls

J.J. Bolton, Clear Springs

Cameron Cooley, Brazoswood

Bryan Davila, Clear Brook

Juan Deleon, Dickinson

Wade Deschamps, Clear Creek

Thomas Groom, Clear Falls

John Harvison, Clear Lake

Blake Haygood, Clear Lake

Emilio Marquez, Dickinson

Bailey Nicodemus, Clear Lake

Nick Pacilio, Clear Creek

Alfredo Ramos, Clear Brook

Daniel Saiz, Clear Lake

Nick Spehar, Clear Falls

Garrett Urie, Brazoswood

Zach Waguespack, Brazoswood

Trent White, Brazoswood

James Wright, Clear Springs

Corey Zimpfer, Clear Lake

43-4A BOYS

MVP - Dylan Waugaman, Friendswood

Offensive MVP - Tres Rodriguez, Texas City

Defensive MVP - Richard Tyldesley, Santa Fe

Goalkeeper of the Year - Alex Chavez, Ball

Newcomer of the Year - Nick Seydler, Pearland Dawson

Coach of the Year - Chad Camer, Texas City

First team

Michael Aoki, Pearland Dawson

Brian Cassady, Friendswood

Robert Garey, Santa Fe

Irving Gutierrez, Ball

Brandon Harner, Friendswood

Jovani Herrerra, Ball

Brent Johnson, Pearland Dawson

Sheldon Lawerence, Ball

Miguel Lopez, Texas City

Tyler Matejka, Santa Fe

Colin Ramby, Pearland Dawson

Max Reinert, Friendswood

Tate Smith, Pearland Dawson

Derek Wheeler, Friendswood

Zach Wrinkle, Friendswood

Second team

Colin Abernathy, Texas City

Rami Banton, Pearland Dawson

Garrett Bode, Friendswood

Tyler Day, Pearland Dawson

Anthony De La Fuente, Friendswood

George De Villez, Friendswood

Robby Gardner, Pearland Dawson

Joseph Gillis, Pearland Dawson

Shaun Houck, Ball

Cameron Hunnicutt, Friendswood

Brian Leining, Santa Fe

Bishop Lopez, Friendswood

Samuel Marshall, Santa Fe

Jose Ositio, Ball

Rodolfo Perez, Ball

Contact Sports Editor James LaCombe at 409-683-5242 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.