It should be no surprise that the district champion Hitchcock Bulldogs (5-0 in district) took home a lion’s share of 12-3A-I’s all district honors.

Senior fullback Xavian Hampton was named district co-MVP (with Hempstead’s Delarrin Turner-Yell), sophomore quarterback Pacey Jones was named newcomer of the year, and acting head coach Cody Carney took home coach of the year honors.

La Marque junior running back Perry Preston received offensive MVP honors.

The rest of the all-district picks for Hitchcock and La Marque are as follows:


• Drevian Archibald, senior — first team tailback

• Josh Castilleja, junior — first team offensive guard

• J.J. Gutierrez, senior — first team offensive guard, first team defensive end, first team punter

• John Paul Lowe, sophomore — first team tailback

• Rodnell Mason, junior — first team safety

• Deonza McCardell, junior — first team cornerback, second team tailback

• Jayden Payne, sophomore — first team offensive tackle, second team defensive tackle

• Davin Preston, freshman — first team utility

• John Scott, senior — first team defensive end, second team tight end

• Tyger Turner, junior — first team fullback, first team outside linebacker

• Randy Williams, senior — first team tight end, first team inside linebacker

• Darrence Barnes, senior — second team tight end, second team defensive end

• Joseph Collins, senior — second team offensive tackle

• Linje Ramey, senior — second team inside linebacker

• Chris Richardson, sophomore — second team cornerback

• James Robinson, junior — second team inside linebacker

• Kobie Vinson, junior — second team offensive tackle


• Jaden Bishop, senior — first team inside linebacker

• Marlon Ford, senior — first team defensive tackle

• Malik Holmes, junior — first team inside linebacker

• Myles Launius, senior — first team quarterback

• James Lofton, senior — first team offensive tackle

• Pedro Rubio, senior — first team center

• Jeremiah Taylor, junior — first team utility

• Jalen Walker, senior — first team outside linebacker

• Joey White, junior — first team wide receiver

• Eddie “Paco” Elam, senior — second team cornerback

• Jerry Evans, senior — second team defensive end

• Norvan Saldana, senior — second team fullback

• Travarious Saldana, sophomore — second team safety

• Devin Smith, senior — second team wide receiver

• Joel Sumlin, senior — second team nose guard

• Herschel Wafer, senior — second team offensive guard

James LaCombe: 409-683-5242, or on Twitter @JamesAtGalvNews

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.