LA MARQUE — Four people will vye to be the city’s next mayor including the former mayor whose recent recall led to this special election.

As of Monday’s deadline to file for a place on the June 25 ballot ousted Mayor Geraldine Sam councilwoman Connie Trube real estate broker and pastor Bobby Hockling 62 and convenience store manager Peggy Phillips 67 were the only candidates to file for the mayor’s office made vacant when Sam was overwhelmingly recalled May 14.

The four-way race will likely result in a runoff unless one of the four candidates can garner 50 percent of the vote.

The mayoral special election will be held at the same time as a runoff election between David Pennington and Clent Brown for the city’s District D council seat.


Voter Info

The deadline to file for a mail-in ballot for the June 25 special election is June 17.

In order to qualify the voter must be at least 65 years old be infirmed or has plans to be out of the county from June 13-25.

Contact the county’s election division at 409-770-5108 about getting a mail-in ballot.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.