GALVESTON — The 22nd annual Marcus Joseph Netherly Memorial Scholarship Program will be at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at Reedy Chapel A.M.E. Church, 2013 Broadway.

Danny O. Jacobs, executive vice president, provost and dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch, will be the guest speaker.

This year’s recipients are Tolen Avery, Michelle Bennett, Armani Boxley, Jordan Boxley, Quentin Burns, Chassidy Robinson, Angela Scott, Colin Taylor, Dezmon Tinsley and Jaylynn Walker. Each recipient will receive a $500 scholarship.

Admission is free and open to the public. For information, call 713-854-0214 or 281-454-5480.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.