LEAGUE CITY — There is a potential for some new faces on the City Council later this year.

Five positions on League City’s council will be up for election on Nov. 4.

Mayor Tim Paulissen’s seat is up for election, as are the seats of council members Dan Becker, Dennis OKeeffe, Andy Mann and Joanna Dawson.

Monday was the first day for candidates to file for a position on the ballot, and by Tuesday six people had filed. Candidates have until Aug. 18 to file.

Paulissen, Becker, Mann and Dawson have all filed for re-election.

Jay Ewend, owner of the Milk Pail restaurant on Main Street in League City, filed to run against Becker, while Nick Long will run against Dawson. Mann and Paulissen had not yet drawn challengers by Tuesday night.

OKeeffe said he plans to file for re-election before the end of the filing period. OKeeffe said his delay in filing was because of his focus on the proposed 2015 budget.

“I promise to continue this diligence if provided the opportunity to serve another term,” he said.

This will not be Ewend’s first time to run for a seat on League City’s council. Ewend ran for office in 2012 but dropped out and threw his support behind eventual winner Todd Kinsey.

This time, Ewend said he has a larger war chest to spend on campaigning and is set on winning the seat.

“What we’re lacking on (the) City Council is a sales person,” he said.

Meanwhile, Paulissen said he is interested in serving another four-year term on the council to continue pushing the city’s many infrastructure projects forward.

“I think we’ve made a lot of progress on those projects but we still have a bunch that we have planned that still need to happen and carry through to fruition,” he said. “I want to be here to steward those projects and make sure they happen.”

At a glance

WHAT: The mayor’s seat and four City Council positions will be on the Nov. 4 election ballot

WHEN: Interested candidates have until Aug. 18 to file for a place on the ballot

WHO: A list of candidates as of July 22:

MAYOR: Tim Paulissen

POSITION 1: Incumbent Dan Becker and Jay Ewend

POSITION 6: Andy Mann

POSITION 7: Incumbent Joanna Sharp Dawson and Nick Long

Contact reporter Christopher Smith Gonzalez at 409-683-5314 or chris.gonzalez@galvnews.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.