SOUTH PADRE ISLAND — The Galveston County Daily News took home 10 awards, including a near sweep in feature writing and five awards in photography on the first day of the annual gathering of the state’s newspaper editors.

The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors presented many of its 2013 journalism awards at its annual convention Saturday.

Daily News reporter Christopher Smith Gonzalez’s powerful feature on the University of Texas Medical Branch’s neonatal Hospice Program was judged as the best feature story in the Class AA division classification.

Mainland Editor T.J. Aulds took home a second-place award in the same category, while Associate Editor Michael A. Smith and John Wayne Ferguson each received honorable mentions for feature writing.

Photo Editor Jennifer Reynolds won four awards for the day. That included second place for Star Photographer of the Year, as well as first place and third place in the general photography category and honorable mention in the spot news photo category.

Daily News Editor Heber Taylor earned a second-place award in the general column-writing category.

Photographer Kevin M. Cox took home second in the photo gallery category.

The Daily News’ 10 awards were among the 86 presented to publications that are part of the Southern Newspaper’s Inc. family.

The New Braunfels Herald-Zeitung was presented 18 awards on Saturday, while the Kerrville Daily Times garnered 14 awards.

The Nacogdoches Daily Sentinel hauled in 12 awards, while The Lufkin Daily News had 10, the Paris News had eight and the Baytown Sun had seven awards.

The Seguin Gazette-Enterprise took home four awards, while The Facts of Brazoria County earned three journalism awards.

The annual conference continues today with a presentation of the Community Service, online newspaper, team effort and Freedom of Information awards.

Contact Mainland Editor T.J. Aulds at 409-683-5334 or

(3) comments

Walter Manuel

Congratulations to everyone who received an award so far recognizing all of your hard work and talent!

I suspect that more awards will be forthcoming to the staff of the GCDN family not only this year, but for many years to come! [thumbup]

George Croix

Congrats to you all.
One of the things I like most about the GDN is that I so often disagree with the various entities reporting and editorializing.
One learns nothing by association and interchange with ideological clones of themselves.
One big difference between them and the forum trolls is they know how to talk smartly from their mouths, not from another orifice...[wink]
Again, congrats.

Steve Fouga

I'd like to add my congratulations to Laura Elder for the award she should have won for her business column, and to T.J. Aulds for the awards he will win for his current and future reporting on the recent oil spill.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.