Voters today in two county cities can cast early ballots for a trio of runoff elections.

Voters in Galveston City Council District 1 will decide the race between incumbent Cornelia Harris-Banks and former city Councilman Tarris Woods.

Meanwhile, island voters also will select a winner in the race for Galveston College board of trustees, Position 5. In that race, Sheryl Rozier will face Michael Hughes.

In La Marque, City Council District B residents will decide between incumbent James Osteen and challenger Chris Lane. That race received extra attention in recent weeks after the third-place candidate in the May general election, Deanna Bethea, filed an affidavit accusing another sitting council member and a former member of the planning and zoning commission of making racist remarks.

The Galveston County Elections Division has established three early voting locations. They are:

Galveston County Justice Center, second floor conference room, 600 59th St., in Galveston;

Galveston County Courthouse, second floor, 722 Moody St., in Galveston;

La Marque City Hall, Community Room, 1109-B Bayou Road, in La Marque.

Early voting hours are 8 a.m. 5 p.m. today through Friday and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. June 16-17. Election day is June 21.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.