The prestigious Club 25 held its winter banquet at the Artillery Club and announced its new officers for 2018. Randy Garcia is president, Steve Schulz is vice president and Gerry Hornstein is secretary/treasurer. Dining together at the club were Dolph and Teri Tillotson, Gwen Richardson, Monica and David O’Donohoe, Gene Hornstein, Gretchen Schulz, Ed and Lavinia Bircher, David and Connie Campbell, Mike and Joy Cowan, Cindy and Jim Earthman, Michael and Dr. Nancy Hughes, Vickie and Stretch Lewis, Suzanne and Jim Little visited with Norman and Addie Earthman Pappous, Fred and Kim Raschke and Danna and Don Sparks.

The Assumption of the Virgin Mary Greek Orthodox Church kept with tradition and hosted the Blessing Souls that gathered on Offatts Bayou for the service and traditional throwing of the cross. The diver, Harold Abdul-Ahad, donned a wet suit to retrieve the cross thrown by The Rev. Stelios Sitaras. The diver who retrieves the cross earns good luck for the year and Harold earned every bit of the crowd’s congratulations by taking the plunge — there weren’t a lot of willing bystanders considering the bracing water.

Standing by to congratulate Harold were Greek Consul Ioannis Stamatekos, Sea Star Base Galveston Executive Director Tino Gonzalez, Leroy and Mary Jo Naschke, Harold’s proud parents Peter and Rouz Abdul-Ahad, Mary Giokas, George and Doris Letsos, Irene Katsis, Cathy and Stanley Marinos, Al Redmond, Popi Samantes, Nick and Beth Kouloumondros and Ioannis Areti. A celebratory luncheon was prepared by the Olympia Grill brothers, Tikie and Larry, with the assistance of Tina Mechedes West, who prepared the Greek salad. An annual event, the Blessing of the Water, was graciously sponsored in part by Charles and Rosemary Doolin, Sea Star Base Galveston founders.

Happy birthdays to Dale Olsen, DivaKid Kathryn Elizabeth Rourke Cox, Angela Crummett, Divacuz Nick O’Donohoe, Camille Thiel Downes, Jimmy Fundling, Tom Kimbrough, Kimberly Gaido, Divagrandkid Charity Cox, Sandi Jerome Pevoto, Shelly Doss, Laura Protz, Chris Packard, Ellen Fishkind Goldhirsh, Albert Choate, Pete Paganos, Jo Frances Cuccia Turvey, Olivia Meyer, Bobo Arriaga, Barbara Howard, Max Nevelow, Beau James Rawlins and Myra McCollum.

Frances Powell is a columnist for The Daily News. Send deets ’n’ pix of your parteez ’n’ proceedings to or call 409-744-6540.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.