David Marshall, UTMB’s Chief Nursing and Patient Care Officer, will serve as interim dean for the School of Nursing. Marshall was instrumental in UTMB’s efforts to earn Magnet Recognition by the American Nurses Credentialing Center of the American Nurses Association. He also was the driving force for UTMB to create a MakerHealth Space, the nation’s first makerspace in a hospital, where students, faculty and staff members create health care solutions with an array of tools. Nancy Barone, previously at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine, was to have served as interim dean but was unable to join UTMB. The dean’s position in the School of Nursing became vacant when Pam Watson, dean of the nursing school since 2001, retired earlier this year.

Turrubiate earns spirituality recognition

Stella Turrubiate, a nurse at the Breast Health and Imaging Center at the League City campus, received the Emma Josephine Loffelholz McMorris RN Spirituality Award for embodying compassion, communication and commitment to her field during the 24th annual Nursing Conference sponsored by the Institute for Spirituality and Health at the Texas Medical Center. Turrubiate was nominated by Gail Kwarciany, an oncology clinical nurse specialist, who said Turrubiate “not only encourages others to be compassionate and respectful of others’ spiritual needs including each other, but she models this behavior on a daily basis. Her quiet manner and gentle approach sets everyone at ease and allows effective interaction between herself and patients.”

Forest wins national teaching award

Sharron Forest, assistant professor in the School of Nursing, was selected as the 2017-’18 recipient of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing’s Novice Faculty Teaching Award, which recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of nursing by early-career faculty at AACN member schools. Two honorees are chosen annually for this national award, one each in two categories: didactic teaching and clinical teaching. Forest won the Novice Faculty Excellence in Didactic Teaching Award.

Richardson honored by state pediatric society

Dr. Joan Richardson, chair and professor in the Department of Pediatrics and director of the Division of Neonatology, received the Charles W. Daeschner Jr., MD Lifetime Achievement Award at the Texas Pediatric Society annual meeting. This is the highest honor given by the TPS and was created in 2001 to recognize pediatricians’ contributions to the health and well-being of children and the education of pediatric medical students. Richardson has been a member of the UTMB faculty since 1974.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.